HL Deb 17 November 2004 vol 666 cc169-70WA
Lord Greaves

asked Her Majesty's Government:

Which Lancashire district and unitary authorities are included in the central Lancashire city region, as described in section D2 of Moving Forward: The Northern Way. [HL5007]

Lord Rooker

The definitions of city-regions inMoving Forward: The Northern Way are not meant to delineate fixed boundaries of the city-region areas. A significant aspect of the city-region work in the Northern Way has been the recognition that the appropriate boundaries of the city-regions vary depending on the subject being considered and are necessarily malleable.

However, for the purpose of statistical analysis, it was decided that a grouping of local authorities needed to be identified in order to allow for data comparisons (details of which can be found in a technical annex to the report at www.thenorthernway.co.uk). The central Lancashire city-region consists of 12 local authorities: Blackburn with Darwen; Blackpool; Burnley; Chorley; Fylde; Hyndburn; Pendle; Preston; Ribble Valley; Rossendale; South Ribble; Wyre.