HC Deb 05 March 2002 vol 381 cc239-40W
Mr. Brady

To ask the Secretary of State for Education and Skills if she will list those maintained schools which are known not to be offering the full national curriculum. [38859]

Mr. Ivan Lewis

[holding answer 28 February 2002]: For a school not to offer the full national curriculum, it must make an application to the Department for Education and Skills, to disapply elements of the national curriculum, under section 362 of the Education Act 1996. This is to allow curriculum development or experimentation.

The schools that are currently disapplying elements of the national curriculum, through section 362, according to departmental records, are shown in the following list:

  • Churchfields Performing Arts College (Swindon)
  • Falmer High School (Brighton)
  • Wye Valley School (Bucks)
  • Blurton High School (Stoke)
  • The Lord Silkin School (Telford)
  • 240W
  • Moatbridge School (Greenwich)
  • Willington High School (Wallsend)
  • Cambourne School and Community College (Cambourne)
  • Walton-le-Dale High School (Preston).

Forward to