HC Deb 22 April 1998 vol 310 c654W
20. Mr. Llew Smith

To ask the Secretary of State for Wales if he will make a statement on the composition and record of the corporation of Gwent tertiary college. [38021]

Mr. Hain

Gwent Tertiary College Further Education Corporation comprises:

  • Mr. Chris Hughes: Chairman of Governors
  • Mr. Brian Bird: Vice Chairman, Independent member
  • Mr. Anthony Atherton: Independent member
  • Mr. Philip Curzon: Independent member
  • Mr. John Davidson: Independent member
  • Mr. Tudor Griffiths: Independent member
  • Mr. David Mason: Principal
  • Mr. David Jones: Independent member
  • Cllr. Mrs. Anita Lloyd: Co-opted member
  • Mr. Tom Mulcahy: Independent member
  • Ms Heulwen Pritchard: Independent member
  • Mrs. Anne Ransome: Staff member
  • Mr. John Rogers: Staff member
  • Mrs. Kate Walker: Independent member
  • Mr. Shaun Walters: Independent member
  • Mr. Neville Waters: Independent member
  • Mr. Malcolm Cox: Student member.

24. Mr. Touhig

To ask the Secretary of State for Wales if he will make a statement on the number of inquiries currently being conducted into the running of Gwent tertiary college. [38026]

Mr. Hain

There are currently three external inquires underway at Gwent Tertiary College. These are being conducted by the National Audit Office, the Welsh Funding Councils' Audit Service, and the European Court of Auditors together with the Verification and Audit Section of the Department for Education and Employment. In addition, Ernst and Young, the College's internal auditors, are conducting an audit.

Forward to