HC Deb 20 March 1968 vol 761 c123W
Mr. James Griffiths

asked the Minister of Power if he has yet appointed a tip safety committee, as recommended by the Aberfan Tribunal.

Mr. Marsh

Yes. I have appointed Mr. F. R. Bullen, B.Sc., M.I.C.E., P. P. I. Struct. E., of F. R. Bullen and Partners, Consulting Engineers, to be Chairman of the Advisory Committee on Tip Safety, and the following to be members:

Colonel Walter Brundan, O.B.E., D.L., M. Eng., C.Eng., M.I.C.E., M. I. Mun. E., M. I. Hy. E., County Engineer and Surveyor to the Pembrokeshire County Council;

Mr. M. W. Leonard, B.Sc., M.I.C.E., Managing Director of Soil Mechanics Limited;

Mr. N. Siddall, B.Eng., C.Eng., M.I.Min.E., Director-General of Production at the National Coal Board;

Professor H. B. Sutherland, S.M., M.I.C.E., M.I.Struct.E., F.R.S.E., Cormack Professor of Civil Engineering at Glasgow University.

The Secretary is Mr. D. W. Hills, Safety and Health Division, Ministry of Power.

The terms of reference of the Committee are "to advise the Minister of Power on matters concerning the stability of tips of refuse from mines and quarries, and such other related questions as may be referred to it."