HC Deb 26 June 1961 vol 643 cc12-3W
Mr. Owen

asked the Minister of Housing and Local Government and Minister for Welsh Affairs if he will publish in the OFFICIAL REPORT the amount of Exchequer equalisation grant to the Northumberland County Council and to each borough council and urban district council in the area, for the years 1960–61 and 1961–62.

Mr. Brooke

In England and Wales Exchequer equalisation grants were renamed rate-deficiency grants in 1959. The provisional amounts of the grants for 1961–62 to the authorities named are the same as those for 1960–61 because they were calculated from data for 1960–61, the latest available at the time of calculation. They will be recalculated on later data in due course. The amounts provisionally are as follows:

Rate-deficiency grant 1960–61 and 1961–62
Northumberland County Council 1,552,288
Non-County Boroughs
Berwick-on-Tweed 23,582
Blyth 63,550
Morpeth 13,429
Wallsend 49,066
Whitley Bay 19,454
Urban Districts
Alnwick 6,981
Amble 6,835
Ashington 45,284
Bedlingtonshire 40,689
Gosforth 7,593
Hexham 2,485
Longbenton 83,604
Newbiggin 22,616
Newburn 19,974
Prudhoe 21,870
Leaton Valley 64,634